The Peacocks ‘Don’t Ask’ out 08/10/2012 People Like You Records ‘New Album’


‘Don’t Ask’

(People Like You – release date 08/10/2012)


Straight out of Switzerland The Peacocks have been playing double bass driven punk rock since 1990. That is long before a band they are often compared to, Australia’s The Living End, had even formed. The comparisons are justified though, rockabilly influenced punk trio with hard-hitting, excellently observed and aware lyrics that have transcended genres.

The original line-up with founder member Hasu Langhart, guitarist and lyricist at the helm hit the road hard in those early days playing 100s of shows all over Europe, after just a year current bassist Simon Langhart was also on board. The hard miles paid off when the rest of the world began to take notice after the 1998 release of ‘In Without Knocking’, a tour of Japan, Canada and North America followed.

The Peacocks went down such a storm in North America that they were spotted by Mike Park at Asian Man Records, the home of The Alkaline Trio amongst others and promptly signed them to release their next album, the acclaimed ‘Angel’. Shortly afterwards the current drummer Jurg Luder joined the band and the permanent line-up was complete.

2004 saw the release of their next album ‘It’s Time For…..The Peacocks’ this album was on five labels in five countries and three continents. In the UK the album was released by Household Name Records who had championed the careers of Capdown and The King Blues. Another world tour followed promptly. The Peacocks label-hopping came to an end in 2007 when they signed to People Like You Records. They stayed in the USA after that leg of their tour to record PLY debut ‘Touch and Go’ at Sonic Iguana in Lafayette Indiana, this was followed up by the mini album ‘Gimme More’ then ‘After All’ in 2010.

Here we are in 2012 People Like You are very proud to present ‘Don’t Ask’ a 14 track stomper of an album that is all that we have all come to expect from The Peacocks – Explosive, rockabilly influenced, stand-up bass driven punk rock, addictive and as catchy as hell.

The only thing we DO ask is play it loud! 

THE PEACOCKS – “Don’t Ask”
1. What I Want
2. Need A Break
3. All I’ve Got Is What You See
4. Don’t Pretend To Care When You Don’t Care
5. Re-Hash Boogie
6. Up And Down
7. It’s All A Lot Of Bollocks
8. How Did They Do That?
9. With You
10. The Girl’s In Trouble And The Boy’s In
11. Nothing Left To Sing
12. How Long?
13. The Long Way Home
14. I Shouldn’t Bring Up What I Can’t Put Down
For More Info interview requests, promos etc please contact

Simon Nott


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s